Child passenger safety
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for Missourians 1 to 34 years old. Missouri law says that child passengers younger than 4 years old must be secured in an approved child safety seat. Read up on some passenger safety rules for everyone in the family, then check out our other resources for being safe passengers.
Child car seats and safety belts | How to know when your child is ready to move to the next stage
FREE car seat safety checks | At SSM Health Cardinal Glennon and around the metro area
Missouri and Illinois safety laws and tips from DMV.org
Passenger safety rules
- Every person on every ride must use a car seat, booster seat or safety belt that’s right for his or her weight and height.
- All children under 13 ride in a backseat.
- Know where the airbags are located in your vehicles. They can be in the front seat, on the roofline or in a backseat. Some airbags can be turned off.
- Follow manufacturers’ instructions for car seats, booster seats and vehicle safety at all times.
- Do not allow your child to ride with drivers or passengers who do not use safety restraints.
- Do not share safety belts. Use one safety belt for each person in the car.
- Weigh and measure children often to be sure they are using the right safety devices.
- Install car seats using a locked vehicle safety belt or LATCH system. Read labels and instructions to know how to do this.
- Never use car seats purchased from yard sales, secondhand stores or flea markets.
- Never let children ride on laps, in cargo areas or in truck beds.